River Modeling – A Delft3D Flexible Mesh training in River Modeling (for US and Canadian users)

Delft3D FM is the next generation simulation software package for evaluating and forecasting hydraulic functioning of rivers under normal, extreme and exceptional conditions, and the successor of Delft3D 4 and SOBEK 2. During this two-session course, we will address key functionalities such as: 2D river hydraulics, river morphodynamics, and the use of Real-Time Control and Python scripting.

Course background

This course focuses on hydraulic behavior in rivers, where we will cover the basic functionalities required in consulting projects. You will learn how to set-up and work with a 2D model in Delft3D FM for accurate computations. You will learn advanced visualization techniques using Delft3D FM GUI, QUICKPLOT and QGIS. On the second session of this course, we will give an introduction to modeling of river morphodynamics and sediment transport with Delft3D FM (in 2D). At the end of this intensive course, you have made your own model and applied the advanced functionality of Delft3D FM, which you can use for future reference in your projects.

Prerequisites

  • Experience with river hydraulics and modeling is recommended.

Online format

In preparation of the training, we’ll send you all the material and will ask you to install the stand-alone Delft3D Flexible Mesh application on your own machine. While attending the training, it will be essential that you have a sufficiently fast internet connection to support a video call, as well as a headset.

The use of Windows is required for the Delft3D courses. For the Technical Specifications of the Delft3D FM Suite, click here.

Online course dates

Session 1: Tuesday, 5 July 2022, 09:00 PDT (12:00 EDT) until 13:00 PDT (16:00 EDT)
Session 2: Wednesday, 6 July 2021, 09:00 PDT (12:00 EDT) until 13:00 PDT (16:00 EDT)

Register

For more information and registration please visit the Deltares USA website.